What Two Days in the Cotswolds Can Remind You

  1. Take. Deep. Breaths. (Yes, I’m ba-ack! Sorry it’s been so long, I’ve been busy doing all sorts of things – reading, writing songs and stories, listening to a whole ton of music, as well as preparing fanmail for The Vamps with my brother, and yes: hanging out in the Cotswolds with my good friend Kate.) So, the trip involved lots of horse-riding – and although I’ve spent my whole life reading about horses, never before had I properly ridden one. This was a big leap. And I was definitely NOT expecting to feel like I was about to fall of the poor pony every time we started trotting. Thankfully, horses and ponies are some of my favourite animals and I knew well enough to trust my pony to not throw me off. And that’s my first point – take deep breaths. The pony thing is only one example but, really, this applies to everyone at any time when things aren’t exactly going their way. They always seem to help, if only for me, anyway. So – take deep breaths, because
  2. Everything is OK. There don’t seem to be very many positive stories appearing on the news these days. It seems as if there’s always something horrible going on. But, sometimes, a bit of fresh, unpolluted air is all we need to remind us of the good things. Remind us that there’s always hope. All this applies to our personal lives, too.
  3. Most people are good people. Continuing from the last point: the tragedies we hear about from the news are mainly caused by bad people (I’m currently at a loss for a better word. My brain doesn’t seem to be working too well right now.) I’m writing this here because, in my city, it’s not very often we bump into people you would want to talk to on the street. Especially with being a kid, a female and being brown-skinned – times may be improving, but not all people have learnt to accept others. And, is it just me, or is it a different case in the Country? Everyone there was so lovely that, within only one-and-a-half days, I would probably feel comfortable inviting a near stranger to my house. This reminded me that, in our lives, we’ve probably only met/heard of less than 1% of the population of Earth. And if we balance all this out, most of these people must be on our side. Right? So the past two points add up to make: Life is not some sort of dystopian novel. 
  4. Be an explorer. I’m one of those people who likes everything clean and safe. This is both a strength and a  weakness for me. But mainly a weakness (fortunately, I’m now close to getting rid of it – that’s not to say I don’t have my other weaknesses, of course). Because it tends to mean that I’m overly careful about stuff. Even though this was a short trip,  I’ve already become a bit more carefree. I don’t know whether it was the fresh air, the new people, the freedom, something else, or a mixture of everything  – whatever it was, I wouldn’t have been able to enjoy the trip without it. And I’m even thinking of becoming a Scout or a Guide, now. So being an explorer definitely helps, not just in the Cotswolds, but with life in general.
  5. Sleeping at 1 a.m. and waking up again at 2 a.m. is a terrible idea. Seriously. I’d forgotten just how bad, but don’t do it. Otherwise, the day after will be rubbish and you’ll probably be really grumpy and make others pretty grumpy, too. (Sorry, mum and dad!) Luckily I’ve only done it this once in ages – and I definitely don’t plan to do it again for at least a while.

Not only did this trip remind me of lots of things (this list is just a short selection), but it also gave me so much – not really material stuff, but experiences… and membership of a certain elite, top secret club for the wellbeing of horses and ponies.

Sorry, felt like being a tad mysterious. Oh, and I can’t tell you any more. ‘Cause it’s top secret. Obviously.

Leave a Reply

